Add to Favoritesfollow us on twitterjoin us on LinkedInNews Feed
contact-us 0845-643-1611
  Call Me Back

NEBOSH National General Certificate

Pre Requisites

Course Profile

The NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health provides an excellent foundation in occupational safety and health. It helps its holders manage risk effectively by covering a broad range of topics, and is ideal for:  
  • Managers, supervisors and employee representatives.
  • Those looking to start a career in health and safety.  
The NEBOSH Certificate is widely respected by employers and meets the requirements for Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and Associate Membership of IIRSM (AIIRSM). 

Course Content 

The  NEBOSH National General Certificate is made up of three units: 
  • Unit NGC1: Management of Health and Safety
    • Foundations in Health and Safety
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Policy
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Organising o Health and Safety Management Systems - Planning
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Measuring, Audit and Review 
Assessed by a 2 hour written exam 
  • Unit GC2: Control of Workplace Hazards
    • Workplace Hazards and Risk Control
    • Transport Hazards and Risk Control
    • Musculoskeletal Hazards and Risk Control
    • Work Equipment Hazards and Risk Control
    • Electrical Safety
    • Fire Safety
    • Chemical and Biological Health Hazards and Risk Control
    • Physical and Psychological Health Hazards and Risk Control 
Assessed by a 2 hour written exam 
  • Unit GC3: Health and Safety Practical Application Assessed by a 2 hour practical assessment, undertaken in your workplace 


To achieve the NEBOSH National General Certificate you must complete all 3 units within 5 years. 
If you have been awarded the NEBOSH National Construction Certificate or NEBOSH National Fire Certificate in the last 5 years you will be exempt from Unit NGC1 and can simply 'top up' by completing Unit GC2 and the practical assessment (Unit GC3).


Units NGC1 and GC2 of the NEBOSH National General Certificate are each assessed by one two-hour written exam. Unit GC3 is assessed by a two-hour practical assessment carried out in your workplace. 

All courses can be tailored to suit your needs
Prices are dependent on class sizes and requirements. Please contact us (link to Contact us page) to discuss your requirements

What will I get out of it?

Contact Us

For more information on this course including more info on dates, locations and availability, please contact us:

  • Complete our enquiry form below and we will get straight back to you
  • Call us on 0845 643 1611 (local rate)
 Security code